RAPAD Water and Sewage Alliance

The RWSA consists of RAPADs seven local government members: Barcaldine Regional Council, Barcoo Shire Council, Blackall-Tambo Regional Council, Boulia Shire Council, Diamantina Shire Council, Longreach Regional and Winton Shire Council and three (3) non-local government members: the Department of Energy and Water Supply (DEWS), Queensland Water Directorate (qldwater) and the Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ).

The RWSA is governed by a Constitution, and a Memorandum of Understanding, which sets out the structure, governance and key functions of the Alliance and represents the strategic and operational guidelines for the RWSA.


RAPADWSA will take a leadership and advocacy role in the safe, secure and sustainable urban water and waste water services of the local government areas of the RAPADWSA member Councils.

Key Functions

The RAPADWSA will be responsible for assisting the participating Councils to achieve the following functions:

  • Strategic planning.
  • Regional advocacy and inter-government relations
  • Promoting the region with State and Federal Agencies
  • Technical knowledge sharing
  • Joint procurement initiatives
  • Skill Development

Download the RWSA Constitution here